MICAT 2018

MICA, Ahmedabad conducts its own admission test MICAT for the candidates who have applied to MICA for admission to PGDM-C programme on the basis of CAT/XAT/GMAT scores. The PGDM-C is the flagship programme of MICA, Ahmedabad. The two-year, full-time, residential programme is AICTE approved and is deemed equivalent to an MBA by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU). It is a differentiated MBA programme that creates leadership through Creative Thinking, Communication and Consumer-Centricity.

Register now for Top MBA Entrance Exams
XAT:  Conducted by XLRI | Score accepted by 150+ MBA Colleges  - Apply Now
IBSAT: Exam for 9 ICFAI Business School (IBS) campuses - Apply Now

MICAT is a Computer Based Test (CBT) and will be conducted twice for selection of PGDM-C 2018-2020 batch. Better of the two MICAT Scores will be considered.


MICA admission test, MICAT 2017 is a multidimensional computer based examination, which will assess candidates in areas such as Divergent Thinking Abilities, Written Communication Abilities, General Awareness about contemporary social and business issues, including areas relevant to media, marketing, advertising & current affairs and Analytical & Verbal Abilities.


The Admission test also includes psychometric profiling to assess the candidate’s leadership potential.


Important Dates



MICAT-1 Registration opens

September 26, 2017

MICAT-1 Registration closes

November 30, 2017

Issue of MICAT-1 Admit card

December 11, 2017

MICAT-1 Admission Test

December 17, 2017

MICAT-1 score declaration

January 3, 2018

MICAT-II Registration opens

January 3, 2018

MICAT-II Registration closes

February 5, 2018

Issue of MICAT-II Admit card

February 9, 2018

MICAT-II admission test

February 17, 2018

MICAT-II score declaration

February 26, 2018

Call letters for GE-PI

March 1, 2018

Final result

March 31, 2018


Key points about MICAT
The admission process for PGDM-C 2018 intake has following key points:

  • The selection process for PGDM-C 2018-20 to happen twice.
  • Candidates will have to take at least one of the three eligibility exams: CAT 2017, XAT 2018 and GMAT .
  • MICAT will be held only in the computer based format in 39 cities across the country.
  • First phase Group Exercise & Personal Interview (GE-PI) will be conducted at Bengaluru, Delhi, Kolkata & Mumbai, Ahmedabad and the second phase GE-PI at MICA, Ahmedabad only.
  • Psychometric test is a qualifier. Those who qualify on the Psychometric, their CAT/XAT/GMAT relative performance will be considered (Subject to a minimum cut-off in CAT total percentile/XAT total percentile/GMAT score)
  • Those who qualify based on the CAT/XAT cut-off or GMAT score shall be assessed for the following MICAT sections: Verbal ability (VA), Quantitative ability and Data Interpretation (QADI), General awareness (GA), and Divergent and Convergent Thinking (DCT).
  • Those who qualify on the basis of relative performance subject to a minimum cut-off in Scaled Scores for each of these sections (namely: VA, QADI, GA and DCT) and CAT/XAT cut-off or GMAT score shall have their Descriptive Tests evaluated.
  • Those who qualify on the basis as mentioned above and on the basis of relative performance subject to a minimum cut-off in Scaled Score in DT shall be considered for short listing for GE and PI. Shortlist will be prepared on the basis of MICAT-I and /or II or better of the two relative performances if a candidate has taken both MICAT-I and MICAT-II. (This will be prepared based on the Composite Score formula of 50% CAT/XAT/GMAT and 50% MICAT).
  • Approximately 1/10th of the total number of candidates who appear in the two MICATs will be shortlisted for GE & PI based on the Total MICAT Scaled Score.

Register for MICAT exam updates

Exam dates and schedule

  • Registration – Online: 26-09-2017 10:00 AM to 30-11-2017 05:00 PM (Confirm)
    Admit Card Release: 11-12-2017 10:00 AM (Confirm)
    Exam Date & Timings– Offline: 17-12-2017 10:00 AM (Confirm)
    Result: 03-01-2018 10:00 AM (Confirm)

MICAT 2018 Selection Process

The selection process at MICA involves three steps:


Step-I: Apply with CAT/ XAT/GMAT. Each candidate has to take at least one of the three exams: CAT/ XAT/GMAT.


Step-II: MICA Admission Test (MICAT). All candidates are assessed on MICAT, which consists of 6 sections: Psychometric (P), Verbal ability (VA), Quantitative ability and Data Interpretation (QADI), General awareness (GA), Divergent and Convergent Thinking (DCT), and Descriptive Test (DT).


Read more

MICAT 2018 Exam Centres

MICAT will be held in Ahmedabad, Aizawl, Ajmer, Aligarh, Allahabad, Bareilly, Bangalore, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Dehradun, Delhi, Dhanbad, Gurgaon, Gwalior, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Meerut, Navi Mumbai, Mumbai, Muzaffarnagar, Nagpur, Noida, Panjim, Patna, Pune, Raipur, Ranchi, Trivandrum, Vadodara and Visakhapatnam


Read more

MICAT 2018 Calculation of Scaled Scores

The score obtained individually by a candidate ‘X’ in a particular component of MICAT-I/MICAT-II,e.g. Verbal Ability (VA) will be converted into Scaled Score using the following sample formula for one of the components, i.e., VA:


Scaled Score -VA of a candidate 'X' in MICAT-I/MICAT-II = (Score -VA of the candidate 'X' /Maximum obtained by any candidate amongst the candidates who have appeared in MICAT-I/MICAT-II in VA) multiplied by Maximum Possible Score in VA in MICAT-I/MICAT-II.


Read more