GMAT Exam Pattern

Register now for latest MBA Exam & Admissions Updates

GMAT is a ‘Computer Adaptive Test’ The GMAT exam pattern is developed to primarily test a candidate’s Reasoning Skills. There are four different sections in GMAT Exam Pattern 2019:  Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA); Integrated Reasoning (IR); Quantitative Reasoning and Verbal Reasoning. Total duration of GMAT test pattern 2019 is three hours and seven minutes with specific time allotted for each of the four sections.


GMAT Exam Structure

Time Limit / Number of Questions
Question Types
Score Range
Analytical Writing Assessment
30 minutes
1 question
Analysis of an Argument
0-6 (in 0.5-point increments)
Integrated Reasoning
30 minutes
12 questions
Graphics Interpretation, Table Analysis, Multi-source Reasoning, Two-part Analysis
1-8 (in 1-point increments)
Quantitative Reasoning
62 minutes
31 questions
Data Sufficiency, Problem Solving
6-51 (in 1-point increments)
Verbal Reasoning
65 minutes
36 questions
Reading Comprehension, Critical Reasoning, Sentence Correction
6-51 (in 1-point increments)

MBA/PGDM Admissions 2022 Open | Apply Now
FORE School of Management, New Delhi Admission Open 2022 for PGDM (FM)
JAGSOM Bangalore MBA Admission 2022 SCMS Cochin Admission 2022 Open
Jaypee JIIT JBS Noida MBA Admission 2022 IPE Hyderabad PGDM Admission 2022 Open
JIMS Rohini Delhi PGDM Admissions 2022 MET Mumbai PGDM e-Business
RV Institute of Management Admission 2022 UPES University Dehradun MBA Admissions 2022

GMAT Test Pattern 2019: Key Facts

  • GMAT exam has a sectional time limit which varies with each section.
  • Quantitative Reasoning and Verbal Reasoning sections in GMAT Exam are computer adaptive and have multiple-choice questions.
  • In the Quantitative Reasoning & Verbal Reasoning sections, one cannot skip, return to or change the response to the previous questions.
  • There are two 8-minutes breaks during the GMAT exam. These breaks are, however, optional
  • Test takers are given three options to choose the order in which they can attempt the four sections of the GMAT exam. Test takers can attempt the exam in one of the following three orders –
    • Analytical Writing Assessment, Integrated Reasoning, Quantitative, Verbal
    • Verbal, Quantitative, Integrated Reasoning, Analytical Writing Assessment
    • Quantitative, Verbal, Integrated Reasoning, Analytical Writing Assessment
  • Analytical Writing Assessment consists of an essay question and Integrated Reasoning consists of non-MCQs

GMAT Test Pattern: What is a Computer Adaptive Test?
GMAT is a ‘computer-adaptive’ entrance examination. This is different from being merely a ‘computer-based’ test. In a computer-adaptive test, candidates will receive questions one at a time and the difficulty level and score of the GMAT 2019 will depend on the accuracy of the previous answer of the candidate. If the response to the previous question is accurate, the next question will be of higher difficulty level. If the answer is incorrect, the following question will be of lower difficulty level and will get scored accordingly. The final score, as per the paper pattern of GMAT 2019 depends on the difficulty level of questions that the student had attempted. Correct answers to difficult questions will result in obtaining higher scores while correct responses to easier questions will result in getting lower scores. The GMAT 2019 pattern does not have any negative marking.

Short name